It won’t be their last

The Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) together with the Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corp., (PAGCOR) launched a project series called “Kanto Kultura,” a celebration of culture and the arts featuring Filipino artists that came into fruition on Feb. 15, 2021. The said project is the brainchild of CCP Board of Trustees’ members Nikki Junia, Stanley Seludo, and Dr. Jaime Laya, with the support of the the CCP Board of Trustees Chairperson Margarita Moran-Floirendo and CCP President Arsenio J. Lizaso.

‘Kanto Canta’ 2021 winners

Last June 30, 2021, the top winners of the first-ever online band competition “Kanto Canta” were announced through the official Facebook pages of CCP and “Kanto Kultura.” Representing their respective cities and provinces, the winners came from Tuguegarao City, La Union, Las Piñas City, Lanao Del Norte, and Taguig City. Bagging the grand winner spot is Letrang Norte from Tuguegarao City of Cagayan who composed and sang “Tahanan.” Grabbing the second place is Abel from La Union who performed “Reseta” and third place, The Batcave of Las Piñas City who sang “Pag-ibig ang Tulay.” IMCC Kapagintaw Entho-Rock Band, coming from Lanao Del Norte, landed in fourth place with their song “Anihan na,” and obtaining fifth place is Far East Bronxx of Taguig City who performed “Bakit Sa’yo Pa Rin.”

The panel of judges was composed of distinguished and renowned artists from the music industry, namely, Noel Cabangon (Filipino folk singer and composer, a recent SUDI Awardee by the NCCA), Nyoy Volante (The King of Philippines acoustic pop), Jay Durias (Founding member of pop-R&B band, Southborder), and Kanto Canta project leaders as well as members of the CCP Board of Trustees, Michelle Nikki Junia and Stanley Seludo.

The Kanto Canta grand winner will get P50,000, a Kanto Kultura trophy, and an exclusive management and recording contract from Widescope Entertainment. The second and third placers will each get P30,000 and P20,000, respectively, as well as a Kanto Cultura trophy. The fourth and fifth placers will get P10,000 each, while the sixth until the 15th placer will get P5,000 each. The Kanto Kultura trophy was made by Dan Raralio, a prominent sculptor and recipient of the CCP Thirteen Artists Awards.

Official Photo of CCP’s ‘Kanto Kultura’

”Kanto Kultura” seeks to encourage Filipino talents to create content that showcases creativity and innovation. “Kanto Canta” is the project’s first online band competition, encouraging our local artists to incorporate our very own indigenous instruments in the hopes of discovering a new sound that can help find a niche in the global audience parallel to the phenomenal K-pop.

“Kanto Kultura” also aims to provide an avenue for different forms of artistic expression such as music, film, literature, theater, dance, and visual arts.

Source: Manila Bulletin (